Image

It’s Not Just You

24 Apr

When I first decided to write a blog many topics came to mind. I decided to start with what I have been totally consumed by: Motherhood!

Over the years I have become very candid about different parts of my life, namely my experiences as a mother. I am willing to talk about my 70 pound weight gain, my sciatica problems, not being able to put my own socks on (even while sitting), the time poop came shooting at me like it was came from a cannon, and the six weeks my son spent in the NICU. I of course shared these events with my friends and family although not many of them could relate.  They did however have their own experiences to share in an empathetic, and sometimes sympathetic, way.

Just talking to other moms and sharing and venting can give you a sense of support that you can’t get in any other way.  However, moms tend to want to give the perception of perfection and therefore we infrequently share our mishaps and misfortunes in our journey of raising children because we don’t want to get  the “gasp and look”, and you know what I’m referring to!

I want Franklyimamom to be a place where moms can feel comfortable sharing their experiences without worrying about being judged. I hope that in coming here and reading this blog you feel like part of a group and not feel like you’re alone in this. I want you to read this and sigh a breath of relief as you think…                                                                  “so it’s not just me”.

Leave a comment